As We Walk Together

Pressing on towards the finish line

Christ-Centered Motherhood May 13, 2012

Filed under: goal,life,marriage,parenting — aswewalktogether @ 7:40 am

I read this quote this morning and was promptly convicted and encouraged:

I have come to believe that if a woman’s priority is not her relationship with Jesus Christ she will end up with an anemic soul. And women with anemic souls, whether they are single or married, with children or without, will forget or downplay the gospel and thereby not live it out.

I was convicted because I much more often make myself the priority, not that I would say that, because it sounds bad, but that is how I effectively live a lot of the time.

I was encouraged because I regularly have long lists of things that need to be done or ways I need to change and so forth.  And regularly it seems that the list that grows the longest is that of things I am not getting done or ways I am not changing.  And if my righteousness is to be found in such demanding expectations, then I am forever crushed and condemned.  But this post reminded me that there is only one item/person that should really be on my list: Jesus Christ!

The law is summed up in this: “Love the Lord your God with all of your heart, soul, mind and strength.”  If this one thing is being pursued, then all else will “fall” into place.  If I am loving Jesus with all of myself, then and only then will I be able to love my neighbor as myself (and I am thinking especially of my roles as wife and mother).

Not that I can muster up such love and devotion on my own.  If I try that, then it’s only me working on a to-do list again and trying to make myself righteous.  My motives are still only about me.  But the glory is that He has done it all!  I don’t need to depend on my own merit (I will only ever be found extremely lacking!) – I come in Christ’s merits!  We love Him because He first loved us! I didn’t merit His love – He loved me when I was an enemy!  And His grace is a free gift to all who come to Him!

So, this is my prayer this morning, this week, this month, this year….that I would love Jesus more.  I pray that He would help me to see more of Himself as I read His Word and pray and that I won’t be able to help but delight in Him more and more.  I pray that I would grow in understanding and being awed by His gospel – that a holy God would love His people so much that He wouldn’t wait for them to come to Him (they never would have done it), but He would become one of them, though a perfect man, and He would own all of their shame and blame and sin on the cross before His Father in their place, die in their place and raise again from the dead as a sign that His sacrifice was accepted, all so that His people could be saved from their sins and have real life in Him!  And I pray that that would trickle over to my relationship with my husband and my children.

 

Leave a Reply

