As We Walk Together

Pressing on towards the finish line

Parental Amnesia April 3, 2012

Filed under: parenting — aswewalktogether @ 1:53 pm

Gloria Furman writes about how we as parents, and especially as moms, easily suffer from parental amnesia.  What is parental amnesia?  She points out two main areas it manifests itself:

  • First, we forget that, Lord-willing, our children will grow up to be adults.
  • Second, we forget that our children are more than just potential adults. They are people made in God’s image and they have eternal souls.

She says, “When the mundane looms larger than eternal life we forget who God is, who we are, and who our children are.”  How sadly true.  And how easily the mundane can loom larger without our gracious God intervening and giving us an eternal, heavenly perspective!

Another quote: “By God’s grace I can resist the temptation to treat my children as interruptions to my will for my life. Instead, God enables me to treat them as precious gifts he is using to shape me into his image according to his will for my life.”

How I need Him to step into my “world” and redeem it for His glory!

Read the entire post here.

 

Leave a Reply

