As We Walk Together

Pressing on towards the finish line

Teaching Your Children to Work October 25, 2011

Filed under: parenting — aswewalktogether @ 7:52 am

God created us for work.  The Apostle Paul admonishes us to, whatever we do, do it all to the glory of God and with all of our hearts, as for the Lord and not for men (Colossians chapter 3).  Therefore, one of our goals in raising our children is for them to learn to imitate Christ by working diligently and cheerfully.

For me, one of the hardest parts of this is just the practical how-to and the patience to remember that this is a training process.  It is so much easier and usually faster if I just do it all myself (and it is then done to my expectations, too).  But then, what am I accomplishing?  Then it’s just all about me and my agenda and the training process has been completely thrown out the window.  They won’t learn without practice and instruction and time to fail and time to learn how to do it correctly.  And they won’t learn if I am not modeling it for them, dealing with my own heart when I am tempted to grumble and complain about the work I have been given to do.

I read this post today with helpful reminders and suggestions for how to make this work, so I thought I’d share it.

 

Leave a Reply

