As We Walk Together

Pressing on towards the finish line

Dating Your Daughters June 22, 2011

Filed under: life,parenting — aswewalktogether @ 2:06 pm

Have you taken your daughter  (or son) on a date lately?  My husband is good about taking each of our kids out on Daddy-dates pretty regularly, but I confess I am not so good at it.  I can tend to get too wrapped up in “maintaining” a home, teaching my kids, establishing routines, trying to sneak in so “me” time that I neglect to make time for the more important memory-building, relationship-building times one-on-one with my kids.  We will never have “more time” later.  WE will always have 24 hours in each day, so I need to reconfigure how I use the time I have.  I read this post today and found it to be a good reminder of what is at stake in our relationships and a prod to get me thinking again about how I can show my kids that I love them by taking time for them.  I hope it encourages you, too!

 

Leave a Reply

