As We Walk Together

Pressing on towards the finish line

Encouragement for You Moms Out There April 6, 2011

Filed under: life,parenting — aswewalktogether @ 9:35 pm

My husband is away at a conference this week, so I am holding down the fort with our four kids while battling a sinus infection and laryngitis.  Needless to say, we have been a bit off routine!  It is hard enough to parent all day long, day after day, by myself, without giving in to feelings of self-pity, desiring to get “my way”, wanting a break, ……  Add to that feeling lousy and having no voice. So, we are off schedule because the teacher can’t talk (and most of school involves the teacher talking).  Then the kids need something else to replace their normal routine.  And we all get stir-crazy and easily out-of-sorts.  Add to that everyone missing daddy, and another wrench is thrown in.  Add to all of that that we are five sinners living together under one roof , and you begin to get the picture.

So, what do I do with this?  Do, I just look with my physical eyes and see the frustrations, the annoyances, the neverendingness (great word, huh?) and justify losing my temper, not using my words or tone of voice to build them up according to their needs so that it may benefit those who listen (Eph. 4:29)?  Do I begin to feel that it all depends upon me, because that is the way I am behaving ,practically-speaking, in the moment?  Or, do I see with eyes of faith in the God who loved me AND sent His very own Son to rescue me from sin and despair and death by taking away my sins and the guilt and punishment I deserve AND giving me His perfect righteousness?  Do I really believe that He controls everything each day, as we teach our kids? Do I really believe that He is husband to me and father to my children?  That He is enough ALL THE TIME?!

I read this post this evening that really encouraged me,so I thought I’d share.  One key statement is that, “Grace is always available and never runs out!”  Be encouraged today!

 

Leave a Reply

