As We Walk Together

Pressing on towards the finish line

October 27, 2010

Filed under: life — aswewalktogether @ 7:03 am

We have been under construction in our house for months now, all beginning with a roofing project that uncovered and caused much more work than we planned for or expected.  The outside is mostly finished now, but the interior still holds many projects for us, and in the meantime, the house is not as clean as I would like and has clutter everywhere from displaced items (I mean, whole closets’ worth of stuff lying around!).  I have been struggling with finding peace and contentment in my own home amidst all the mess everywhere with no end in sight yet.  I read this post this morning that really encouraged and redirected me in my thinking.  Something to pray about!

As a little girl, I dreamed of being a wife and mother in a busy home full of life, fun, and love. By the grace of God, a few decades later, that’s what we’ve got. I am regularly overwhelmed by the goodness of God in His gift of our family. Life is “full-on” in the Flood home and I wouldn’t have it any different. Or would I?

Funny, girlhood visions of my wonderful dream home never included messy rooms begging to be condemned by the Board of Health, random Lego pieces in my bed at night, sibling conflicts on an on-going and sometimes simultaneous basis, and dirty laundry piles that reach the top of my shower stall. But Rob is kind to remind me of Proverbs 14:4.

Where there are no oxen, the manger is clean, but abundant crops come by the strength of the oxen.

Read the entire post here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

